2020 CCMA Awards


It was a big night for Canadian Country Music on Sunday!

Flat Lake Alberta's Brett Kissel emerged one of the big winners of the night, taking home three awards: male artist, fan's choice and album of the year for "Now or Never," while acknowledging this was a celebration in the most difficult of times.

"Lately, we've found ourselves living in a new world, and although some things may look a little different, one thing hasn't changed at all, and that's the music," 


Grande Prairie's Tenille Townes took home the hardware for Female Artist of the Year, while her song "Jersey on the Wall (I'm Just Asking)" won songwriters of the year and video of the year.

Dean Brody, Brett Kissel, The Reklaws, Dallas Smith, JoJo Mason, Don Amero, Tebey & Marie Mae, Jade Eagleson, Jess Moskaluke and the Hunter Brothers were among the acts who take to the stage to perform from the fields of Burl’s Creek Event Grounds, home of the Boots & Hearts Music Festival.

Meanwhile, country superstars Tim McGraw, Kane Brown, Sam Hunt & Breland, MacKenzie Porter, Meghan Patrick, Lindsay Ell and Townes performed from Nashville, Tenn.


A list of winners at the 2020 Canadian Country Music Association Awards broadcast on Sunday:


Entertainer of the Year
Dallas Smith

Single of the Year
“Keep it Simple” by James Barker Band

Album of the Year
“Now or Never” by Brett Kissel

Group or Duo of the Year
The Washboard Union

Rising Star
Tenille Arts

Male Artist of the Year
Brett Kissel

Roots Album of the Year
Washboard Union

Female Artist of the Year
Tenille Townes

Fans’ Choice
Brett Kissel


Add a comment


  • Edmonton Sunny intervals -5°C Sunny intervals
  • Fort McMurray Sunny intervals -3°C Sunny intervals
  • Grande Prairie Sunny intervals -6°C Sunny intervals
  • Slave Lake Light snow -4°C Light snow
  • Lac La Biche Sunny intervals -4°C Sunny intervals
  • High Level Sunny -2°C Sunny