Red Deer County issues fire advisory

“A fast spring thaw has created dry conditions, which can lead to a fire growing out of control,”


A restricted fire order is now in effect for all of Red Deer County.

county officials say all outdoor fires presently burning within Red Deer County whether set with permission or under permit of the County, will remain valid for the duration of the permit.  The ignition of all new outdoor fires within county boundaries is hereby prohibited. No new fire permits will be issued until further notice.


This ban does not apply to:

• Fires, which are contained within cooking and heating appliances and which are fueled by fluids, gases, or wood pellets.

• Fires contained within industrial facilities for operational purposes.

• Safe acceptable residential fire pits.

• Gas/Propane fueled fire pits/stoves/barbecues.

• Catalytic or infrared-style heaters.


Any person violating conditions of this ban may be held liable for any damages and/or costs associated with extinguishing the fire and full prosecution with penalties, in accordance with Red Deer County Fire Services Bylaw 2012/14 and/or the Forest Prairie Protection Act RSA.

Fire restrictions are also in place for Lacombe County, Clearwater County, Kneehill County, Ponoka County (including Summer Village of Parkland Beach), Rocky Mountain House Forest Area, Town of Ponoka, Town of Rimbey, and Village of Caroline.

More from Alberta News